SWASFAA gives out several awards per year. Find out more about our awards and our award recipients. Our awards include:

  • Leo Hatten Distinguished Service Award
  • NASFAA Leadership Award
  • NASFAA State Award
  • Philo Brasher Emerging Leadership Award

Leo Hatten Distinguished Service Award

Leo Hatten, Director of Financial Aid at Eastern New Mexico State University in Portales, New Mexico was active in the SWASFAA Association throughout his professional career and for many years afterward. Leo was longtime editor of the SCAN, the association newsletter, and the “official” photographer for the association. His hundreds and hundreds of photos created a visual history of our association. Because of his many years of untiring and unselfish service to the association the Board voted to honor Leo by naming the Distinguished Service Award after him.

The Leo Hatten Distinguished Service Award is awarded to member representative(s) of SWASFAA who have made outstanding achievements to the financial aid profession and to SWASFAA’s goals. Their career must demonstrate service to other professionals, students, and other publics served by our community. It is based on significant contributions over a period of time. It is the highest award bestowed by the association and is presented at the Annual conference. Leo Hatten Distinguished Service Award recipients are selected by the President.

2019 Recipient: Erika Cox

2018 Recipient: Andrew Hammontree

See a full list of recipients.

NASFAA Leadership Award

2018 Recipient: Janell Valdez

See a full list of recipients.

Philo Brasher Emerging Leadership Award
(formerly known as Rookie of the Year)

Philo Brasher, Assistant Director of Financial Aid at McNeese State University, accepted the job as Association treasurer during an especially difficult time in our association history. Philo continued to serve for many years as the SWASFAA Treasurer and was key to establishing the financial health of the organization. Because of Philo's dedication and extraordinary leadership, the Board voted to recognize him with the naming of the Rookie of the year award which is a special recognition of new and upcoming leaders from each state in the association. In 2007, the Board renamed the award the Philo Brasher Emerging Leadership Award to more accurately reflect the purpose of the recognition.

2019 Recipients by State:

Arkansas: Shannon Green

Louisiana: Amanda Brady

New Mexico: Jennifer Sheley

Oklahoma: Jonna Raney

Texas: Danchess Ingram

2018 Recipients by State:

Arkansas: Michelle Doise

Louisiana: Amy Cable

New Mexico: Elizabeth Amador

Oklahoma: Melanie Rinehart

Texas: Rachael Fournier

See a full list of recipients.

NASFAA State Award

2006: Texas Service to the Financial Aid Profession (TRAINetwork)

2002: Oklahoma Service to Students, Parent and Families (Cash for College)

1989: Texas Honorable Mention (HACU forms and workshops)

1987: Louisiana services to Students, Parents and Families (FA Guide for Louisiana students)

Join Us!

Visit our Membership Page
Find  Out About our Trainings and Events
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software