Our mission is to enhance the professional development of financial aid administrators.

Featured Sponsors:

Welcome from Amy!

Happy 2022! A big thank you to the SWASFAA board, committees, and members for all your hard work in 2021.

Merriam Webster dictionary defines a superhero as a fictional hero having extraordinary or superhuman powers or an exceptionally skillful or successful person. The people who work in financial aid are "real-life" superheroes who deserve our gratitude. We are the caped crusaders and unsung heroes of a college campus and are tasked daily with using our superpowers to help students navigate through the financial aid process. We must employ our super analytical skills to analyze data and complicated federal and state regulations.

Working in financial aid, we have many types of superpowers.

Healing Power: Of all the traditional superhero powers, none can give a hero the longevity that increased healing can. You might be healing yourself, but you are certainly healing others as well. You are healing leaders, still during a global pandemic, and you will continue to face more crises.

Super Speed: How is a superhero to keep up with all of the changing regulations like verification, or stay on top of compliance? You rely on a network of other superheroes who are your professional friends. We rely on each other to talk about regulatory changes and attend workshops and conferences.

Superhuman Strength: As aid administrators, you have tough conversations with parents, students, and staff. You must ensure you are providing the best customer service. You have to call on your superhuman strength of patience, empathy and understanding when working with student's aid package.

Super Analytical: You are constantly being tasked with providing the most current data on FAFSA completions, enrollment and how many awards have been packaged. If only you had a supercomputer to analyze all of the data!

As we embark on 2022, SWASFAA focus and initiatives will continue to enhance and promote the following:

  • Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
  • Advocacy
  • Volunteerism
  • Mentorship

Take advantage of every opportunity that presents itself. Each opportunity will allow you to meet and work with new people. As you move on to the next chapter, creating personal and professional relationships becomes even more important and exposes you to new ideas and experiences. New connections can lead to new opportunities and may open doors for you. Most importantly, new connections can lead to lasting friendships. 

At the end of the day, the most rewarding aspect of being a superhero is helping students achieve their dreams. Get out there save the day!

Stay tuned for spring training events and Save the Date for the Fall conference in Oklahoma!


Upcoming events

No events available

Join Us!

Visit our Membership Page
Find  Out About our Trainings and Events


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software